Introducing: The Structure of ELEAGUE Major Boston

January 2, 2018 - News
Introducing: The Structure of ELEAGUE Major Boston

Turner’s ELEAGUE is once again getting the honor of hosting the first CS:GO Valve Major of the year. This time, they’re going to do things a little bit differently. Instead of the 16 teams we’re used to, 24 will start the battle for the title of Major Champion this time. How is it all going to work? Explaining it is what this article is for.


First of all, let’s get some facts about the tournament itself. The initial stages of the tournament will start on Jan. 12, 2018 and teams will play in two venues at certain stages of the tournament, the ELEAGUE studio at the G-FUEL ELEAGUE Arena in Atlanta and the Boston University Agganis Arena in Boston. The 24 teams will fight for the prize pool of $1,000,000 and the glory of becoming Valve Major Champions, the ultimate honor in CS:GO.

What’s this? 24 teams?

For years, the Valve Majors had 16 teams competing for eight spots in the Playoffs and Legend status, which guaranteed an invite to the next Major for any team which had three of the five  players who made the Top 8 in the previous Major.

In the first Valve Major helf by ELEAGUE, the tournament format was changed to feature a Swiss format for team seeding into the Playoffs. Now, changes are once again coming. Instead of the Major Offline Qualifier, a New Challengers Stage will be held before the tournament begins in full, similar to the Play-In Stage seen at the 2017 League of Legends World Championship.

The 8 teams that failed to make the Playoffs in the PGL Major Kraków will join the eight Minor winners from all around the world to fight in a five-round Bo1 Swiss tournament. After Round 1, teams will play other teams with the same record. If they lose three times, they will be eliminated and advance further into the Major after winning three matches.

Cloud9, FlipSid3 Tactics, G2 Esports, Natus Vincere, mousesports, Sprout, FaZe Clan and Vega Squadron will fight as the Kraków’s Fallen, while Space Soldiers, Team Liquid, AVANGAR, Renegades, Team EnVyUs, Misfits, Quantum Bellator Fire and TyLoo will enter the fray as the Minor’s Champions.

Phew, 16 once again

After the Challengers Stage, the 8 teams that come out of it intact will fight in Bo1 Swiss against the Legends from PGL Major Kraków, Gambit Esports, 100 Thieves, Astralis,, Fnatic, SK Gaming, BIG and North.

The format in this stage will be the same as it was in the Challengers Stage. The 16 teams play five rounds of Swiss. Teams that win three matches will qualify for the new Playoffs called The Champions Stage, while the ones to lose three times are eliminated.

The Champions Stage will be played through in Bo3 throughout, in a single-elimination bracket.

The Challengers Stage will start on Jan. 12 and conclude on Jan. 15, with teams playing at the ELEAGUE Arena in Atlanta, Georgia. The Legends Stage will start on Jan. 19 and end on the 22nd. Matches will be played in Atlanta once again. The Champions stage, however, will move to Boston, Massachusetts and start on Jan. 26, with the Finals taking place on Jan. 28.


In the new Major format, 24 teams are technically qualified for the event. Everyone but the Legends from Kraków will play 5-round Swiss to 3 wins on January 12th – 15th in Atlanta. Then, the victors will have a 3-day break before being joined in Atlanta by the Legend teams in 5 more rounds of Swiss to 3 points starting on Jan. 19 and ending on Jan. 22. The winners will then move to Boston and start the single-elimination Bo3 Playoffs from Jan. 26 to Jan. 28.

We have a lot of exciting content prepared for you before and throughout the tournament. Keep up to date by following our social media. If you have an opinion about which teams are going to win in any given match and want to play on it, click the banner below to get in on the action at